Florida Republican urges defunding UN Human Rights Council until UN condemns Hamas

Posted 28 days ago


A Florida Republican congresswoman is introducing a bipartisan bill to strip the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) of taxpayer funding until the international body condemns the Palestinian terrorist organization Hamas.

Rep. Anna Paulina Luna, R-Fla., on Monday introduced the Stand With Israel Act to withhold U.S. funding to the UNHRC until a resolution is passed condemning Hamas after the group's deadly surprise terrorist attack on Israel on October 7.

"It should not be a heavy lift for the UN, which claims to promote global human rights, to pass a resolution condemning what will go down in history as one of the deadliest attacks against the Jewish people," Luna said in a press release exclusively obtained by Fox News Digital.

"The United States should not fund the UN Human Rights Council until it stops targeting our closest ally," Luna said. "The UN must unequivocally condemn Hamas's utter disregard for human life and the terror they are inflicting on Israelis and the innocent Palestinians they use as human shields."

Luna said that until "this institution can defend objective human rights, not subjective ideological bias, it is a scourge to the values it claims to champion."

"The hypocrisy in all of this is while the UNHRC lectures Israel on defense, China (one of their HRC members) is actively putting Muslims in concentration camps," Luna said. "It's time they save the world their virtue-signaling and we defund them."

The Stand With Israel Act prohibits taxpayer funds from going toward the UNHRC until both the U.N. Security Council and U.N. General Assembly adopt a clear resolution condemning the Palestinian terrorist organization.

Luna's bill has several co-sponsors, including Democrat Florida Rep. Jared Moskowitz and Republican Reps. Brian Babin, Lance Gooden, and Randy Weber of Texas; Andy Biggs of Arizona; Josh Brecheen of Oklahoma; Eric Burleson of Missouri; John Curtis of Utah; Nicole Malliotakis and George Santos of New York; Mary Miller of Illinois; Jeff Van Drew of New Jersey; Andy Ogles of Tennessee; and Victoria Spartz of Indiana.... (Read more)