Four GOP Governors, Including Chris Sununu of New Hampshire, Do Not Sign Letter in Support of Judge Amy Coney Barrett

Posted 51 days ago


Four Republican state governors have declined to sign a letter in support of President Trump’s nominee to the Supreme Court, Judge Amy Coney Barrett.

Out of the nation’s 28 Republican governors, 24 signed a joint letter urging the “swift confirmation” of Barrett. The governors who did not sign were Larry Hogan of Maryland, Charlie Baker of Massachusetts, Phil Scott of Vermont, and Chris Sununu of New Hampshire.

Sununu has not been as openly critical of Trump as the three other governors who refrained from signing. Currently in the midst of a reelection campaign, Sununu is leading Democratic challenger Dan Feltes by 58-35 percent in a poll by Saint Anshelm College.

“As governor, Chris Sununu has no role in the confirmation process,” Sununu campaign spokesperson Ben Vihstadt told WMUR News. However, the... (Read more)